Founded in 1951, Maplewood Elementary School sits happily at the city’s cultural nexus, and boasts a diversity rarely seen in modern elementary education. It is a beloved, neighborhood school that has educated multiple generations in many East Austin families.
According to the brochure, Taking Stock: the roots of Maplewood, published in 1978 by the Maplewood Community School Advisory Council, with Gretchen Sabine as the primary researcher assisted by Reagan High School students, our school is located on land that was once a cow pasture for Mr. Scheiffer, who had a dairy at 39th and Vineland. The area was rapidly developed after WWII and “Maplewood School was built in 1951 to accommodate the increasing number of families who began to move into the area. Originally, there were 5 classrooms and a lunchroom, which doubled for lunches and classes.”
Maplewood faculty adopted the slogan, “Increase the Peace,” in the early 1990s and still uses the Increase the Peace words today to teach the value of: communication, composure, consideration, encouragement, respect, responsibility, and teamwork.